A Time to Help

Just another WordPress.com site

Global Villages November 4, 2010

In the Spring 2010 semester, I took the Advanced Visual Literacy course.  I did a research paper on Marshall McLuhan, his thoughts on the Medium being the Message and the Global Village.  I was fascinated by the Global Village as it was presented in the 1960s.  Fifty years later, his theory of the Global Village seems to be a part of everyday life.  Through technological villages, this vast world of ours becomes smaller and smaller each day.

In the McLuhan’s Global Village, society moves away from being individuals and becomes part of groups of like interests.  These groups become a bonding of sorts that connect people who may not have connected in other circumstances.

Think Facebook.  After doing my research for my paper, I had to wonder how many of these social networking sites based their initial concepts off of his thoughts of the village.  Facebook and other social media sites build these common areas (both foolish and serious) of like interests.  Facebook takes all different arenas and provides a solid line of newsfeeds.  I can log on in the morning, see what’s up with friends, find out what sales and promotions my favorite stores are having, find out any important information or news that is going on, I can find out what is going on with my sports teams, politicians, and what headlines the newspapers are touting.  When my daughter was in Italy in May, she went out to dinner with our cousins.  With that hand-held ICT, the took a photo with the camera phone, uploaded it to Facebook … and moments later, halfway around the world, I felt I was there.

Using the power of social media, politicans have taken their campaigns to the internet more and  more.  Attempts to win voters over by different political campaigns by advertisements, videos and messages about the candidates and party were found all around.  This arena of the Global Village grouped like frustrations, like supporters into larger groups.  Come 2012 Presidential Election, it will be interesting to see how much of a part Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, etc., will play in the overall campaigns.

Then there is the area of the Global Village that I use most often.  The quest for doing good.  If I see or hear of an event going on which will make someone’s life a little easier (ie. American Cancer Society Events, Northeastern NY Kidney Foundation, Food Drives anything supporting our troops), I like being able to promote it.  Anything that makes our villages just that much is worth promoting.

 

Leave a Reply

