A Time to Help

Just another WordPress.com site

Introducing Integrated E-Portfolio Across Courses in a Postgraduate Program in Distance and Online Education August 30, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Anita DeCianni-Brown @ 2:40 am
Tags: ,

Electronic portfolios have been becoming increasingly popular in the job market and career search.  They focus on “growth and development over time” and provide individuals the opportunity to show evidence of how they are accomplishing meeting standards over the course, or throughout their education.  It’s a collection of work in media formats such as PowerPoint, hyperlinked text, websites, galleries and PDF’s of one’s work.  “Integrating many varied, published definitions, e-portfolio can be understood as a collection of purposefully organized artifacts that support backward and forward reflection to augment and assess growth over time.”  (p. 245)

Bhattacharya states that early e-portfolio practice has been:

  • Individuals rather than the institutions have ownership and control over the e-portfolio.
  • E-portfolios should support reflective practices need for life-long learning.
  • Assessment against curricular rubrics is essential in establishing meaning in e-portfolio artifacts.

There are schools, such as ESC, that claim that the student’s portfolio is the property of the college when it is submitted for academic review.  Bhattacharya also includes several other possibilities, but the one that seems to resonate the most is the portfolio as a reflective practice.  I will using blogging as an example.  When I first began at ESC, the first course I took, Digital Storytelling, introduced me to writing a blog.  Over time, I added other areas, such as photography work from courses and design work to the blogs.  This showed my own personal growth.  Many of the written blogs include some reflection or my connection to material.  I can refer back to them, re-read either what I wrote about a chapter, or topic, and have a refresher and how I was able to connect with some other aspect.

There are three types of E-portfolios:

Showcase E-Portfolio:  Organization occurs after the work has been created.  This would be the examples of digital and visual work.

Structured E-Portfolio:  A predefined organization exists for work that is yet to be created.

Learning E-Portfolio:  Organization of the work evolves as the work is created.  I would say that the blogs I have written during my graduate school work, would be an example of learning e-portfolios.  As I have moved through the courses, and worked on/completed tasks, the portfolio is built.  Last semester I took a course that was to blog about a topic and develop it.  In my case, I selected the need for a particular type of course, I wrote my own rationale for why I felt it would be necessary through to a lesson plan outline.

Bhattacharya, M.  Introducing Integratd E-Portfolio Across Courses in a Postgraduate Program in Distance and Online Education.  (2009)  (p. 243 – 253)

 

Leave a Reply

